Fieldnotes●
← All fieldnotes
AI / GUIDE

AI Video Generator Cost Per Clip + Up to 50% Off Higgsfield

An AI video generator cost comparison in dollars per finished 5-second clip across Higgsfield, Runway, Luma, Kling and Pika, not in credits you cannot compare.

Original Fieldnotes illustration on checking AI video generator costs before paying
Original Fieldnotes decision-check illustration
Fieldnotes · Original editorial illustration

Every AI video pricing page leads with a credit number. Higgsfield Plus gives 1,200 credits a month, Luma Plus gives 10,000, Kling Ultra gives 26,000. Those numbers look comparable and they are not. On Luma, one second of Kling 3.0 at 720p costs 30 credits. On Higgsfield, five seconds of the same model costs about 7 credits. A credit is a currency each platform prints for itself.

This guide converts published plan prices and published per-model credit tables into one number you can actually compare: dollars per finished 5-second clip. All figures were read from the official pricing pages on 2026-09-23.

Why credit counts cannot be compared across services

Take a single model available on two platforms, Kling 3.0 at 720p, and price five seconds of it on each plan.

PlanMonthly priceCredits includedCost per credit
Higgsfield Starter$19270$0.070
Higgsfield Plus$591,200$0.049
Higgsfield Ultra$1293,000$0.043
Runway Standard$15625$0.024
Luma Plus$3010,000$0.003

These rates divide the monthly plan price by the monthly credit allowance. Higgsfield's own pricing page prints a credits-per-dollar figure as well (15 on Starter, 26 on Plus, 31 on Ultra), which is higher because it is calculated on the annual price: 1,200 credits over the $47 annual rate gives 26, while the $59 monthly rate gives 21. Starter reads the same either way because it has no annual discount. Every figure in this article uses monthly billing.

Luma credits cost a sixteenth of a Higgsfield credit, which tells you nothing on its own, because Luma also charges roughly twenty times as many credits for the same output. The credit price only becomes meaningful once you multiply it by that platform's own consumption table.

AI video generator cost comparison: dollars per finished clip

These are calculated figures: published plan price divided by published monthly credits, multiplied by the published credit cost of that model and resolution. They assume you use the whole allowance, and they exclude the reruns that any real project needs.

Model and resolutionHiggsfield PlusLuma PlusRunway Standard
Kling 3.0, 720p, 5s, silent$0.34 (7 credits)$0.45 (150 credits)not in the published table
Seedance 2.0, 1080p, 5s$2.21 (45 credits)$1.89 (630 credits)not in the published table
Gen-4.5, 5snot in the published tablenot in the published table$1.44 (about 60 credits)

Each service publishes its own model list and the tables are paginated, so a blank cell here means the model was not in the published credit table at the time of checking rather than a confirmed absence.

The ranking flips between the first row and the second. Higgsfield is cheaper on the light model and Luma is cheaper on the heavy one. Any article that names one service "the cheapest" without naming a model and a resolution is not measuring anything.

One caveat on the first row. Luma prices Kling 3.0 differently with and without audio, 30 against 40 credits per second, so the audio version costs $0.60 there. Higgsfield's table does not split that model by audio, so the comparison holds for silent output and should be re-checked against a real generation if you need sound.

The same math on the cheapest Higgsfield tier is worth seeing: Starter at $19 makes that Kling 3.0 clip cost $0.49 instead of $0.34, because the small plan has the worst credit rate. On Higgsfield, Runway and Luma the entry plan is the most expensive way to buy output. Pika is the exception, selling credits at a flat rate across tiers.

Signing in through the link below opens a 3-hour window with up to 50% off. That window starts when you sign in rather than counting down to a fixed promotion end, so finish the sizing work below before you click. Confirm what that offer actually takes off on the payment screen after you sign in. Higgsfield sign-in link: up to 50% off for 3 hoursAffiliate link: Fieldnotes earns a commission if you purchase through this link.

Separately from that link offer, the public pricing page lists annual-billing discounts of 20% on Plus ($59 to $47) and 23% on Ultra ($129 to $99), while Starter has no annual discount at all. The 30% badge at the top of that page is the headline figure for annual billing rather than the rate any individual plan receives, which is the same headline-versus-actual gap this article flags with credits per dollar. Do not add the two together.

What the free tiers actually give you

Three of the five confirm zero usable credits on the free tier, and a fourth does not publish a free tier at all. This is the single most common surprise for people who plan to test before paying.

ServiceFree creditsWatermarkTrial period
HiggsfieldNoneOn every free generationNone
Runway125, one time onlyNot stated on the pricing pageNone stated
KlingNone on BasicCannot be removed on BasicNone stated
LumaNo free tier card on the pricing pageNot statedNot stated
Pika0, credit packs onlyNone on any tierNone stated

Luma is the gap in that table. Its pricing page has no free tier card and its homepage carries a "Try for free" button, so whether any free credits exist and how many is not published.

Higgsfield states it plainly: there is no trial period, and a free account carries a watermark on every generation. Removing it is not retroactive, so anything you made while free has to be generated again on a paid plan. Runway's one-time 125 credits work out to roughly ten seconds of Gen-4.5, which is enough to see the interface and not enough to judge a model.

Commercial use starts at a different plan on every service

If the output is going into client work or a monetized channel, this decides the plan before price does.

  • Higgsfield: commercial rights are not tied to a plan. The terms allow commercial use on every tier including free, and rights survive cancellation. In practice the free tier watermark makes a paid plan necessary anyway.
  • Kling: paid plans only. The Basic tier explicitly excludes commercial use and cannot remove the watermark.
  • Pika: commercial use begins at Creator, $35 a month. Starter at $10 does not include it, which makes the cheap plan unusable for paid work.
  • Luma: included from Plus upward.
  • Runway: the pricing page does not state the condition. Check the Terms of Use before committing.

Four conditions the headline price hides

These came out of the official help pages rather than the pricing cards, and each one changes the real cost.

  1. Credits expire at renewal. On Higgsfield unused subscription credits are gone at the next billing date. Separately purchased credit packs last 90 days. Nothing rolls over, so a plan sized for your busiest month is wasted in every other month.
  2. Unlimited models are web only. Higgsfield's unlimited and free generations apply on higgsfield.ai and not through MCP, CLI, Canvas or Supercomputer, where credits are always deducted. If you are driving generation from a script, the unlimited tier benefit does not reach you.
  3. Refunds have three conditions at once. Higgsfield refunds initial purchases only, within 7 days, and only if no credits have been used. Renewals are not refundable and up to a 6 percent service fee is deducted. Generating one test clip ends your refund eligibility.
  4. Promotional prices are first purchase only. Kling's first month discounts are marked as available once. Higgsfield's Team seat at $69 renews at $79. Budget on the renewal price, not the banner.

How to size a plan before paying

Work backwards from output rather than forwards from price.

  1. Count the finished clips one month of work actually needs, then multiply by three to cover reruns. A first generation almost never ships.
  2. Pick the specific model and resolution you intend to deliver in. The cost gap between 720p and 1080p on the same model is often larger than the gap between two services.
  3. Multiply that clip count by the model's credit cost, not by the dollar figure, to get the credits you actually need per month. Then shortlist the plans that include that many and compare those on cost per credit rather than headline price. Unused credits do not carry over on Higgsfield or Luma, so buying a larger allowance than your busiest month is money spent once and lost every other month.
  4. Check the renewal price and the commercial use line before the first payment, since neither is refundable once you generate.

Frequently asked questions

Does an AI video generator cost money, and which is cheapest?

It depends on the model. For a 5-second Kling 3.0 clip at 720p, Higgsfield Plus works out to about $0.34 against Luma Plus at about $0.45. For Seedance 2.0 at 1080p the order reverses, $1.89 on Luma against $2.21 on Higgsfield. Price the exact model you plan to ship.

Can I test one properly without paying?

Not really. Higgsfield, Kling and Pika confirm no usable free credits, Luma does not publish a free tier, and Runway's 125 credits cover about ten seconds of Gen-4.5. Budget for one month of an entry plan as the cost of evaluation, and remember that generating anything ends refund eligibility.

Do unused credits roll over?

Not on Higgsfield or Luma. Unused subscription credits expire at renewal on both. Runway Max carries credits for one month, which is the exception rather than the rule.

Are the credit numbers on these pages complete?

No. Higgsfield and Luma publish full per-model consumption tables. Kling's membership page does not publish per-model credit costs, and Pika publishes a single example. For those two you cannot calculate cost per clip from public information alone.

Bottom line

Compare AI video generators on dollars per finished clip at a named model and resolution, not on credits, plan names or free tier headlines. Then check three lines that do not appear on the pricing card: whether credits expire, which plan carries commercial rights, and what the price renews at.

This post contains affiliate links - I may earn a commission if you sign up through them, at no extra cost to you.

Explore the available options

Confirm the final price, eligibility, and refund terms on the seller page before purchasing.

Sources & verification dates

  1. Higgsfield ↗2026-09-23
  2. Higgsfield pricing ↗2026-09-23
  3. Higgsfield help center: how credits work ↗2026-09-23
  4. Higgsfield help center: refunds ↗2026-09-23
  5. Runway pricing ↗2026-09-23
  6. Luma Dream Machine pricing ↗2026-09-23
  7. Kling AI membership plans ↗2026-09-23
  8. Pika pricing ↗2026-09-23